Temple Of The Dog

Temple of the Dog was a rock band formed in 1990 in Seattle, Washington, as a tribute to Andrew Wood, the lead singer of the band Mother Love Bone, who had died of a heroin overdose earlier that year. The band consisted of members of two other Seattle-based bands, Soundgarden and Pearl Jam, and included Chris Cornell on vocals, Stone Gossard on guitar, Jeff Ament on bass, Matt Cameron on drums, and Mike McCready on guitar. Eddie Vedder also contributed some lead vocals and backup vocals.

Temple of the Dog released their self-titled album in 1991, which was produced by Rick Parashar and recorded at London Bridge Studios in Seattle. The album featured a mix of hard rock and acoustic ballads, with lyrics that paid tribute to Wood and dealt with themes of loss and grief. The album included the hit single “Hunger Strike,” which featured Cornell and Pearl Jam’s Eddie Vedder sharing vocal duties.

While the album initially received mixed reviews and only modest commercial success, it later gained a cult following and is now considered a classic of the grunge era. The band never toured in support of the album, but in 2016, they reunited for a short tour to mark the 25th anniversary of its release.

Temple of the Dog was a short-lived project, but it remains an important chapter in the history of Seattle’s music scene and a testament to the talent of the musicians involved.

Studio Albums

  • Temple Of The Dog (Self-Titled/ Released in 1991)


Band Members (Past & Present)

  • Chris Cornell (Vocals)
  • Eddie Vedder (Some Lead & Backup Vocals)
  • Stone Gossard (Guitar)
  • Jeff Ament (Bass)
  • Matt Cameron (Drums)
  • Mike McCready (Guitar)


More Info

Related Acts

The Retro Artists

%d bloggers like this: