Rage Against The Machine

Rage Against The Machine is a rap and hard rock band from Southern California emerging in the early 1990’s. The band consists of front man rapper and lyricist Zack de la Rocha, guitar phenom Tom Morello, bassist and backup vocalist Tim Commerford and drummer Brad Wilk. All band members except for Zack de la Rocha went on to form Audioslave with singer Chris Cornell when Rage Against The Machine broke up in 2000. Concurrently, de la Rocha began a solo career.

Rage Against The Machine, also known as RATM, are well-known for their hard line political views against oppressive government and corporate greed. Many of their songs and lyrics center around themes of genocide, war, elitism and the horrors of the world created by them. The band first formed in Los Angeles in 1991, playing their first ever show in a Cal State Northridge show on October 23,1991. Fortuitously, the live show was recorded and posted on YouTube years later. The 53 minute show can be found in the Rage videos below.

Studio Albums

  • Rage Against the Machine (Released in 1992)
  • Evil Empire (Released in 1996)
  • The Battle of Los Angeles (Released in 1999)
  • Renegades (Released in 2000)


Band Members (Past & Present)

  • Zack de la Rocha (Lead Singer/Rapper)
  • Tom Morello (Lead Guitarist)
  • Tim Commerford (Bassist/Backup Singer)
  • Brad Wilk (Drummer)


More Info

Related Acts

The Retro Artists

%d bloggers like this: