Megadeth is an American thrash and heavy metal band from Los Angeles, California. It was formed in 1983 by guitarist Dave Mustaine. They got their start parallel to that of Metallica rise to stardom. Megadeth, along with the aforementioned, is considered part of the Big Four of thrash metal music, including Anthrax and Slayer. These fourartists are considered the Godfathers of thrash and metal guitar music.

Dave Mustaine is the founder, lead singer, primary songwriter and only original member. Mustaine formed Megadeth out of frustration after an unceremonious firing by Metallica and company, where he played guitar and provided backup vocals. At the time James Hetfield and Lars Ulrich cited Mustaine’s abusive drug and alcohol usage, what many believe to this day as a hypocritical reason. Many point to the conflicts with the other band members as the main reason for his pink slip. Despite this, he went on to achieve a ton of success with Megadeth, releasing numerous critically acclaimed albums and cementing his place as one of the most influential musicians in the heavy metal genre.

The band has released 15 studio albums. Megadeth is well-known for its intricate guitar work, fast-paced driving rhythms, and socially and politically conscious lyrics. Some of the band’s more popular songs include “Symphony of Destruction,” “Peace Sells,” and “Holy Wars…The Punishment Due.” Over the years, the band has gone through numerous lineup changes, but Mustaine has remained a constant member.

Studio Albums

  • Killing Is My Business… and Business Is Good! (Released in 1985)
  • Peace Sells… but Who’s Buying? (Released in 1986)
  • So Far, So Good… So What! (Released in 1988)
  • Rust in Peace (Released in 1990)
  • Countdown to Extinction (Released in 1992)
  • Youthanasia (Released in 1994)
  • Cryptic Writings (Released in 1997)
  • Risk (Released in 1999)
  • The World Needs a Hero (Released in 2001)
  • The System Has Failed (Released in 2004)
  • United Abominations (Released in 2007)
  • Endgame (Released in 2009)
  • Thirteen (Released in 2011)
  • Super Collider (Released in 2013)
  • Dystopia (Released in 2016)
  • The Sick, the Dying… and the Dead! (Releasded in 2022)


Band Members (Past & Present)


More Info

Related Acts

The Retro Artists

%d bloggers like this: