Audioslave is known best as the supergroup including the late singer and guitar player Chris Cornell from Soundgarden, and Rage Against The Machine’s Tom Morello, Tim Commerford, and Brad Wilk. They released three studio albums including their Self-Titled, Out Of Exile, and Revelations. The band was active from 2000 to 2007, and toured multiple times in support of the first two album releases.

FANS–> Audioslave Collectibles

Audioslave formed when Rage Against The Machine’s Zack de la Rocha left the band due to a breakdown in communication with the rest of RATM. Rage’s Tom Morello, Commerford and Wilk decided to keep their group together and search for a new singer. After many auditions, they decided to avoid another front man that focused on rap to ensure the new band was whole and separate from Rage Against The Machine.

Famous producer Rick Rubin suggested group counseling, and that they play with Soundgarden‘s Chris Cornell. According to Tom Morello, Cornell and the rest of the band gelled instantly, with Morello saying “It didn’t just sound good. It didn’t sound great. It sounded transcendent.” From then on the band began feverously writing and rehearsing, even before the legalities with record labels and management were hammered out. Rick Rubin would go on to produce their debut Self-Titled album, and their follow-up second album Out OF Exile. Their third and final album Revelations was produced by Brendan O’Brien.

The band broke up in early 2007 after Chris Cornell stated he was leaving “due to irresolvable personality conflicts as well as musical differences”. Cornell and Morello disagreed with the specifics, but Chris Cornell also stated that leaving the band also allowed his to focus more on his solo career and work. Over the course of their time together, Audioslave released three albums, received three GRAMMY nominations, and toured extensively from 2001 to 2006.

Audioslave Albums

  • Audioslave (Self-Titled/Released in 2002)
  • Out Of Exile (Released in 2005)
  • Revelations (Released in 2006)


Band Members

  • Chris Cornell (Singer, Songwriter, Rhythm Guitar Player)
  • Tom Morello (Lead Guitar Player)
  • Tim Commerford (Bass Player, Backing Vocals)
  • Brad Wilk (Drums)


Related Acts

The Retro Artists

%d bloggers like this: