311 is a rap/rock and reggae alternative band from Omaha, Nebraska. They originally formed by most of the current members that launched the group in 1988. The group’s name comes from the police code “311” for indecent exposure after the original lead guitarist Jim Watson was arrested for streaking. Eventually Watson was replaced, yet the band kept the name. The band’s name is pronounced “Three Eleven”.

The group, along with continuous album releases, also has sponsored NASCAR race cars and drivers, have teamed with brewers to produce beers with their name on it, and even offer marijuana vape pens named after 311. Many of the members also have side projects and solo projects, releasing albums and supporting tours.

Studio Albums

  • Music (Released in 1993)
  • Grassroots (Released in 1994)
  • 311 (Released in 1995)
  • Transistor (Released in 1997)
  • Soundsystem (Released in 1999)
  • From Chaos (Released in 2001)
  • Evolver (Released in 2003)
  • Don’t Tread on Me (Released in 2005)
  • Uplifter (Released in 2009)
  • Universal Pulse (Released in 2011)
  • STER30L1TH1C (pronounced “Stereolithic”/Released in 2014)
  • Mosaic (Released in 2017)
  • Voyager (Released in 2019)

Album Artwork

Band Members (Past & Present)

  • Nick Lofton Hexum (Lead singer/rapper/guitarist)
  • Aaron “P-Nut” Wills (Bassist)
  • Tim Mahoney (Lead guitarist)
  • Doug “SA” Martinez (Backup vocals and turntable)
  • Chad Sexton (Drummer)


More Info

The Retro Artists

%d bloggers like this: